Taming the Double Pointed Hedgehog: The Knitzi

IMG_7326 Alrighty sock knitters this one is for you.  How many of you find traveling with a WIP sock on double pointed needles interesting to say the least?  You know what I’m talking about, the snagged yarn, the holes in the knitting bag, or worse yet, that needle that slides out of your project when you aren’t looking.  There’s something out there that stops all of that and I’m in love with it.

I travel quite a lot for work, and I am pretty infamous from traveling with a knitting project.  Ask IMG_7325the TSA folks across the country  how many strange looks they’ve given me when they’ve x-rayed my carry on bag.  I’ve avoided bringing socks along, despite them being the perfect size to travel with, because of the DPN (double pointed needles) problems.  Yes, I know there are other ways to knit socks besides DPNs but I really do still love using them.

IMG_7327So, meet the Knitzi.  I stumbled across this doo-hickey when I was knitting a pair of socks the other day.  The pattern I was using was actually created by the makers of this product.  The Knitzi is essentially a wooden tube, with an open side, and two end caps that screw on and off.  This configuration allows for the sock in progress to hang from the slot, and the needles are protected, and snug inside the tube.  All in all, it sounds like a practical design, but the best part is the artistry behind the Knitzi itself.  All of the options available are made from beautifully worked wood.  I’m really happy I ordered one, I’ve got a sock in progress hanging out in the backpack I carry daily.

Leave a comment